Garage Bar

by Allison Goodan

Image

Friday night I went to Garage Bar for their oysters.

Backstory: I haven’t had oysters since I was 8. At a buffet. I cried because I thought they tasted so bad. Also pretty sure my feelings were hurt that my grandma let me try something so horrible.

I haven’t been scared to try them this entire time- you just don’t come across fresh oysters much in Kentucky. Much less my previous town for the past 5 years, Bowling Green.

So the consensus is: I can appreciate them now- I didn’t start crying or anything. However they may just not be my thing. I tried uni once, and it was a little much. A lot much because I almost threw up right there at the table. (I’m waiting until I get the hankering, will order it sashimi style ((smaller,)) and I’m sure I’ll fall in love.) But the slimy, gooey texture of the oysters reminded me of the uni. And the fishy taste. Briny salt water was present in the oysters for sure, and the grainy bits reminded me of sand.

I don’t know man, I feel lame for a foodie. It isn’t like I’m a picky person by any means. Maybe it will grow on me.

Anyways, their house salad was better than any house salad I’ve ever had. And the guy sitting to my right got two orders of the smoked ham, Let me tell you- pigs make for amazing food. So thinly sliced it melted in your mouth. Similar to prosciutto but possibly better.ham

In the future, whenever I go to the garage bar, I will always order the ham. Each order is $6 and they give you a nice slab of bread with a sweet orange sauce and a killer garlic aoli (no one makes it garlicy enough for me.) You can try different types of ham, I think there were 4. Same with the oysters which were $3 a pop. Those came with vinegar, fresh horseradish and cocktail sauce, but you should ignore that last one. Pairing the ham with fresh horseradish was pretty good too.

I also got their lavender honey lemonade cocktail. Quite delish.

Garage doors keep the restaurant open when the weather is nice. Unique faux-grass seating outside, and hard to miss because of the two crashed cars out front. And if you’re in the mood for pizza, that is what they are known for. A great spot, folks. 

photo